The Direction of the Blog

Up to this point I’ve been posting on any subject that struck my fancy at the time. In the coming months I plan on building a cumulative case in defense of the Christian worldview. I am fully persuaded that biblical Christianity is the only consistent worldview.

My purpose is twofold: First of all, my purpose is evangelism. Many non-Christians do not believe that Christianity is a defendable view. I plan to show them that it is, in fact, supported by a vast wealth of evidence. Second of all, I want to strengthen the faith of those who already believe, and equip them to defend the Faith to the unbeliever.

I will begin by defending absolute truth, and move on to epistemology (that’s a fancy philosophical word for the study of how we know what we know), and basic logic. After that, for the most part I will stick to the classical arguments-the cosmological argument, the teleological argument, the moral argument, the ontological argument, and so on. I may even take a stab at arguments from beauty, reason, and love. At some point, I’d like to cover a relatively new argument-the minimal facts case for the Resurrection. I think it’s also important to cover arguments for the reliability of the Bible. Sprinkled throughout I will include tactics and other practical suggestions for presenting the case for Christianity.

If some of the bigger words like “teleological” frightened you a little, fear not. I will present these topics in such a way that the average person can understand them. It is my firm conviction that apologetics is not just something for the highly educated and/or Christians of above average intelligence. With a little study, anyone can master the arguments, with or without an advanced degree. I have no formal education beyond high school myself.

I will be drawing on several resources. The primary and most authoritative source of Christian faith and doctrine is the Bible. I prefer the English Standard version, and I suggest my readers study from a reliable and easily understood modern translation. Outside scripture, my primary source of arguments will be Christian Apologetics: A Comprehensive Case for Biblical Faith by Douglas Groothuis. In my opinion, Christian Apologetics is the best apologetics resource for a cumulative case for Christianity. It is a mighty volume of 700+ pages, but is a joy to read and is faithful to the Bible, as well as philosophically consistent. I will also be drawing on arguments from the apologetic works of C.S. Lewis, I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist by Frank Turek and Norman Geisler, Reasonable Faith by William Lane Craig, Tactics by Greg Koukl, Common Sense Logic by Ric Machuga, and any other apologetics literature and resources that I find useful, including podcasts an blogs by my fellow Christian apologists. My ultimate goal is not merely to show that Christianity is reasonable, but to provide evidence that the gospel message is actually true.

Have you ever wondered whether the Christian faith actually makes any sense? Do you have questions that need answers? Do you want to learn how to effectively persuade others that Christianity is true? If so, stay tuned!

Ecclesiastes 7:19 ESV

Wisdom gives strength to the wise man more than ten rulers who are in a city.

Leave a Reply

